Greater Columbus Tennis Association



Everal Barn ~ Westerville, OH September 28, 2023

2023 Awards Ceremony

GCTA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Aaron Ockerman – President Lori J. Brown – Vice President Fred Duy – Treasurer Brenda Toney – Secretary Geoff Bibo – Immediate Past President

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Linda Guyton

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mark Anderson

Brad Baker

Geoff Bibo

Lori J. Brown

Kyle Burkholder

Kevin Choo

Lenny Comeras

Bill Curry

Eby Day

Phil Diaz

Lois Dosky

Fred Duv

Heath Elliott

Laurel Elmore

Cindy Ferrara

Terry Finneran

Scott Gerber

Beth Gibson

Jim Hendrix

Paul Kobelt

Mike O'Callaghan

Aaron Ockerman

Erin Ortman

Marty Pfeifer

Kris Susa

Brittany Smolewski

Brenda Toney

Les Vernado

Sharon Rusk Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the greater Columbus tennis community.

In Memoriam Bill Warrens

Columbus Recreation and Parks Award

Recognizing an extraordinary individual or family participant in the Columbus Recreation and Parks program.

Eby Day

Family of the Year

Recognizing a family who has been involved in, and contributed to, Columbus area tennis programs throughout the years.

Eberlyn Family

Special Recognition Award

Recognizing an individual who contributes to tennis in the community giving freely of his or her time to promote involvement in tennis for players of all levels and ages, and assists in developing tennis programs and participation in these programs.

Steve Hoffman

Junior Male Player of the Year Award

Recognizing an outstanding 16 or 18 and under age division male player for the highest standards of tennis accomplishments, character, conduct, sportsmanship and amateurism.

Will Gibson
(New Albany High School)

Junior Female Players of the Year Award

Recognizing an outstanding 16 or 18 and under age division male player for the highest standards of tennis accomplishments, character, conduct, sportsmanship and amateurism.

Amiya Bowles (Bexley High School)

WOMEN'S LEAGUES

Daytime Leagues

2.5 Daytime

Worthington Hills Country Club

Megan Maas & Whitney Daffner, Captains

3.0 Daytime

New Albany Country Club 1

Beth Morrison & Pam Gurwin, Captains

3.5 Daytime

Scioto Country Club 1

Amy Bechtel & Sarah John, Captains

4.0 Daytime

Worthington Hills Country Club

Jodi Fox & Barb Sinclair, Captains

Wimbledon Gold

Wickertree Tennis Club

Julie Happel, Captain

French Open Gold

Elysium Tennis Club

Karen Heyob, Captain

Platinum

Brookside Country Club

Susie Campbell & Linda Forsythe, Captains

Career Leagues

3.0 Career

Columbus Country Club

Tricia Gockstetter & Esther Weisman, Captains

3.5 Career

Scioto Country Club 1

Cheryl Davis & Floor Backes, Captains

4.0 Career

Racquet Club of Columbus

Julie Nini, Captain

Open Career

The Players Club

Tammy Smith & Rebecca Hinze, Captains

Age Leagues

Gold (45+)

Elysium Tennis Club

Bill Curry & Kyle Burkholder, Captains

Silver (55+)

Lakes Country Club

Dave Reed & Pete Mudre, Captains

Platinum (62+)

Northam Park Platinum Poachers

Lenny Comeras & Sid Couling, Captains

Diamond (70+)

Northam Park Diamond

Tom Hackett & Terry Finneran, Captains

Skill Leagues

3.0 Level

Country Club at Muirfield

Steve Armitage, Captain

3.5 Level

Champions Tennis Club

Preston Eberlyn & Jerry Eberlyn, Captains

3.5 Level

Racquet Club C

Christian Mpody & Clif Hudson, Captains

3.5 Plus Level

Olentangy Orange Tennis

Sanjay Mansukhanni, Captain

4.0 Level

Elysium Tennis Club

Josh Hafer & Johaun Cheng, Captains

4.5 Plus Level

New Albany Tennis Center

Chris Pammer & Evan Mitelman, Captains

2023 Men's Champ of Champs

3.0 Level

Rami Hanna & Greg Poulos

New Albany Country Club

4.0 Level

Matt Arthur & Mark Holmquist

Scioto Country Club

3.5 Level

Mitch Augenstein & Preston Eberlyn

Champions Tennis Club

4.5 Plus Level

Amos Allison & Kyle Collette

Worthington Hills Country Club